Baggage: Getting Pass Your Past (Part 1)

Baggage

HONESTY ALERT: I have a lot of baggage. A LOT! If I could go back in time and erase it I would. If I could go back in time and change it believe me I WOULD. There are things that I have willingly done in my past that embarrasses me and shames me that it’s a miracle at all that I get out of bed everyday with as much optimism as I do. But you see that’s exactly it: It is a miracle!

I wish I could attribute it to my superior willpower, a steel tenacity that doesn’t allow my failures to stop me from reaching my goals, or maybe even a determined work ethic that pushes me past the pain of problems into the present day power of today’s potential. I would probably love the credit, but I WOULD STILL OWE THE CREDITOR.

I have one simple reason for being able to get over my past… Only one: I have been forgiven by the One who has forgotten!

You have been forgiven by the One who has forgotten.

We have been forgiven by the One who has forgotten, and may we never forget it! I am so thankful to serve a God who has the power to forgive AND forget. This is a concept that is very difficult for people to understand mainly because we as humans simply can’t do it.

We have to forgive and choose not to bring it up again. God has an incredible ability to forgive AND forget. But how? His Word says he has numbered the hairs on our head. He knows every detail about us. He has never had to be reminded about anything…EVER! So how does God forget about our mistakes, our sins, about everything in our past? He chose to do so when He died for our sins. But we have to understand that God is not merely choosing not to bring it up again, He FORGETS!

1 John 1:9 says this, “But if we confess our sins to Him, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness”. (NLT) The word forgive in this verse literally means, “to let go, send away”. Psalms 103:12 says this, “He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west”. (NLT). The word removed in this verse literally means, “take off or away from the position occupied”.

Let’s recap: When we confess our sins God takes our sins off of us, let’s it go, and sends it away! Since He has done that, we should too! Whoever is reading this I want to tell you to stop holding on to your past. The past is a good place to learn from but a terrible place to live. God forgot about it, you should too!

Blessings,

Matt

About MattsLid

Disciple of Jesus|Husband| Father|Student Pastor|LA boy@♥|Tweeting Fire daily thats hotter than corduroy underwear|Sports Enthusiast|Unfinished work in progress
This entry was posted in Leadership| Inspiration|Dreaming, Spirituality/Religion, Teens and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

