Thoughts of a Teen Wanting More In Life

wanting-more-small

Home is supposed to be where you feel safe. Its supposed to inspire you, nurture you, and when your ready release you into the world a person who has grown and loved and experienced the love of Jesus Christ. That has not been my experience of a home. My home has been broken, torn apart; love has fled from its walls, and fear has replaced it. All you can find in my home is fear, pain, and a lot of shed tears. I remember asking God everyday that if home was what the bible says it is, a place of love, then why was I so afraid to go home after school. I always wanted the families described in the bible stories and yet I ended up with a physically and emotionally abusive dad, and an ignorant mom. Through lots of work and by learning things through numerous christian influence I’m no longer who I was. But I still can’t help but fear that I could turn into my father. Its proven that abuse tends to be carried from one generation to the next; and I don’t want to be the person that causes my kids to one day be afraid to go home. So I’m asking you God, help me move past all of this and turn to you so that I can be the person you’ve called me to be.

Wanting More, Female- Age 17

*Every Wednesday here at MattsLid I will post thoughts that I receive from different teenagers/twenty-somethings. A place where hearts are heard, stories are shared, and people are just being real with where they’re at! I receive these thoughts via e-mail (MattsLid@gmail.com). The following was an e-mail I received this past week. As it will be always the name of the individual will remain confidential. If you would like to Share YOUR Story please e-mail me or go here!*

About MattsLid

Disciple of Jesus|Husband| Father|Student Pastor|LA boy@♥|Tweeting Fire daily thats hotter than corduroy underwear|Sports Enthusiast|Unfinished work in progress
This entry was posted in Encourage, Family Matters, Fatherhood, Ministry, Spirituality/Religion, Teens and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

