Thoughts of a Soon to Graduate Teen

Class-Of-2013-GraduationSenior year is suppose to be the best year of high school right? Right, but it can also be the most stressful year of high school as well. I’ve always been in the church, so I wasn’t really nervous about going into my senior year because I knew God would be on my side… Well I’m only halfway done with my senior year and not to long ago I had a thought. A terrible thought that I myself didn’t think I was even capable of… I thought about giving up on God, because it was obvious that he had given up on me. I couldn’t understand why God kept putting me through what he did, over and over again. I didn’t know what to do and didn’t want to talk about it. I told my best friend and he helped me through it. I honestly don’t know what would’ve happened if I didn’t have my friend there to help me. I might have completely given up and I wouldn’t have been able to type this today. This is only part of my story, thanks for reading.

~Almost Gave Up, Female-Age 16

 

*Every Wednesday here at MattsLid I will post thoughts that I receive from different teenagers/twenty-somethings. A place where hearts are heard, stories are shared, and people are just being real with where they’re at! I receive these thoughts via e-mail (MattsLid@gmail.com). The following was an e-mail I received this past week. As it will be always the name of the individual will remain confidential. If you would like to Share YOUR Story please e-mail me or go here!*

About MattsLid

Disciple of Jesus|Husband| Father|Student Pastor|LA boy@♥|Tweeting Fire daily thats hotter than corduroy underwear|Sports Enthusiast|Unfinished work in progress
This entry was posted in Encourage, Ministry, Teens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thoughts of a Soon to Graduate Teen

  1. Hopeful teen says:

    You did the right thing!

  2. MattsLid says:

    Hopeful Teen, Thanks for the comment! She did do the right thing & I am very thankful for that!

  3. Tracy says:

    I’m several years (ok, a decade) past high school now, but my senior year, I felt the same way. I had all my hopes in my senior year being “the best year ever!” and boy, was it anything but that. I’ll spare you all the gory details, but majors were: my favorite teacher was fired, I was stuck in classes I didn’t want or need along with my school to work job being eliminated, and serious illness struck in my family. And when my senior year — the one that was supposed to be glorious and all about me! — ended, I was 17 with no transportation and no job in the middle of nowhere, living with only my brother, who was only a few years older than me– while he worked nights and slept all day, with my parents living in another state due to the circumstances. I wondered many times why God would allow that to happen, when everyone else seemed so happy, and had all the attention and good things showered all over them. But I learned that God did not give up on me.. He was working out something very different that would be in my favor. So don’t give up on Him! He has great plans! Jer. 29:11 “I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord! Plans to prosper you, not to harm you! Plans for hope and a future.” Powerful promises from a powerful God. He’s got your back, as long as you just let Him.

Leave a Reply

