Thoughts of a Cutting Teen

Cutting

Courtesy Via merdi.t @ Flickr.com

*Every Wednesday here at MattsLid I will post thoughts that I receive from different teenagers/twenty-somethings. A place where hearts are heard, stories are shared, and people are just being real with where they’re at! I receive these thoughts via e-mail (MattsLid@gmail.com). The following was an e-mail I received this past week. As it will be always the name of the individual will remain confidential. *

“Those scars on my arm and hips?

They’re not from the dogs.

The lunch I tell you I pack every day?

A lie.

Am I okay with no longer talking with someone I once had a deep connection with?

No mom, but I’m going to say yes so you won’t worry.

I can’t believe you don’t see I’m falling apart.”

Needing Hope-Female, Age 18

*Just so my readers know. I am in contact with this individual! I don’t take any information this serious lightly. But please feel free to comment and encourage her in any way you feel led. Thanks!

Love you all,

Matt

About MattsLid

Disciple of Jesus|Husband| Father|Student Pastor|LA boy@♥|Tweeting Fire daily thats hotter than corduroy underwear|Sports Enthusiast|Unfinished work in progress
This entry was posted in Family Matters, Ministry, Spirituality/Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thoughts of a Cutting Teen

  1. Erin Holmes says:

    Dear Needing Hope,
    God loves you SO much! He is your hope. People fail us all the time – the ones who hurt us with actions, and the ones who hurt us by their lack of action, but God NEVER fails us! Find a Godly woman you can confide in and let us some of your hurt and pain to. I know that Bro Matt’s wife, Sis Athena, is a beautiful woman of God you can talk to!

    My heart and prayers are with you!

    Erin

  2. Lara says:

    My heart breaks for you, sweetheart! Please know that there are people who care about you & what you are struggling with! More importantly, there is a God who loves you infinitely more! Turn to Him & He’ll give you what you need! Please let Matt minister to you! God has placed an incredible man & family in your life! Let yourself be led to the Cross! My prayers & concern will be with you! I’m asking God to wrap you in His arms of love!

    • MattsLid says:

      Thank you for this Lara! Powerful words & a great reminder. My hope is to see another post down the road of her overcoming everything that she is facing. Its coming!

  3. Needing hope says:

    Thank you all, your thoughts and comments were very well taken to home! I appreciate your prayers and thanks for taking the time to comment. I will try to stay in touch about my battles, struggles, and victories. Because with God I will be able to over come everything.

  4. Tracy says:

    I cannot pretend to understand the struggles you are facing. My heart breaks for you knowing that you feel so alone and distant from your mom in this. Please realize, though, that if you think this would worry your mom, you must also deep down somewhere believe that she cares. Don’t forget that. Also know that your Heavenly Father cares for you, and knows you better than you know yourself. He has the answers if only you trust and seek him. I know that’s easier said than done, but give Him a shot. He won’t let you down! I’m praying for you!

  5. Almost Gave Up says:

    I can’t say I know exactly how you feel, but I do know what it’s like when you feel like your mom doesn’t notice your pain. Or anyone at that. It’s hard and most of the time you don’t want to talk about it, and that’s ok to a point. But writing this is a great start, and things will get better. Although I’ve never cut myself I’ve had friends who have, and just so you know they got better. Just like you will 🙂

Leave a Reply

